A little January farm news


Our farm has been put to bed; the fields are waiting for a blanket of snow. (The picture is from last winter, when we had lots of snow on the ground!) Tractors are stored inside the barn, implements lined up behind the greenhouse, the deer fence is down and stowed in one of the old horse stalls in the red barn. Deer now roam the farm fields freely. Hoof prints are everywhere.

2011 apprentices Rebekah Zimmerer and Amy Cook have farms of their own this season. Both landed in Ohio and are busy planning what they will grow and how they will grow it. It’s such a delight to be on the receiving end of the “new farmer” phone calls: “How do I figure out how big my greenhouse should be?”, “What size tractor do I need for 20 acres?” and “Oh my gosh, there’s so much to do! I don’t know if I can do this farming thing!” It wasn’t so long ago that I called my farming mentor several times a week with the questions, worries and self-doubt. I’m excited for, and confident in, both Rebekah and Amy!

I hope your pantries and freezers are well-stocked with local food. I imagine that many of you, like me, are already hungry for spring and greens that always fill the first CSA shares. Freshly harvested spinach, arugula, and lettuce are all on my list of  veggies that I’m craving. Spring is just around the corner. Now’s the time to sign-up for your 2012 Moraine Farm CSA share!

Hope to have more news for you soon. Happy Winter!

This entry was posted in CSA, farmers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

