How to Freeze Greens

This time in the season it seems we are inundated with greens and despite best efforts I find I don’t always get through them all before the next week or before they wilt, whichever comes first. My solution—freeze them! Specifically I’ve taken to freezing the spinach and I thought you all might like to know how to freeze as well.

1. Prepare 1 bowl of ice water, enough to accomodate your greens, and set another pot of water on the stove to boil

2. Rinse, trim, and chop greens as you see fit

3. Blanch the greens in the boiling water for 2 minutes, this breaks down the enzymes before freezing.

4. Drain greens in colander then transfer immediately to bowl of ice water, this prevents them from continuing to cook. Let cool for 2-3 minutes

5. Drain the greens thoroughly, for me this means using a clean dishtowel I don’t mind tinting green and squeezing the water out, gently but firmly.

6. Place in ziplock or food saver bag and remove air. For a ziplock bag, zip most of the way across, leaving enough space for a straw, insert the straw and suck out the air, once finished quickly remove the straw and close the bag.

These should last in the freezer for up to 9 months and you can be enjoying them throughout the season.

~Rachel and Josh

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Freeze Greens

  1. Kirstin says:

    I have found that kale (the curly kind) freezes well raw. I just wash and chop, then bag 1 or 2 cup portions for future soups and other recipes. When I make soup, I just dump the frozen greens right into the stock.

Leave a Reply

