Now We’re Cooking!

CSA Share Dec 21Our first-ever Winter CSA distribution went off without a hitch yesterday – the warm temps were greatly appreciated by your farmers!

One of the many things I enjoy about this time of year is that I have lots of veggies AND time to cook. I usually have one, but not the other 🙂 Shareholder Carol P. shared a couple of recipes with me yesterday that look great and this first one is on my menu for lunch today. I’m calling it a Greens and Potato pie. The recipe calls for Swiss Chard, but Carol says, “ I don’t think I have ever made it with swiss chard, but have multiple times with collards and kale.  Just as delicious.  I leave the tomatoes out this time of year.  It’s a winner, especially for those not so keen on kale or other greens.” Here’s a link to the original recipe, and here’s the seasonal, winter CSA version:

To make it chop 2 cups cooked and very well squeezed kale and in a bowl mix it with 2 cups seasoned mashed potatoes, an egg, 1/2 cup grated cheese (your favorite), salt and pepper and combine well. Transfer to a greased pie dish and smooth top. Sprinkle with grated cheese. Drizzle a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil over the top and bake about 45 minutes in a 350F oven. Let cool slightly then cut into wedges to serve.

I hope you all enjoy cooking up your share, I know I’m going to! Happy Holidays!

This entry was posted in Recipes, Winter CSA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.